2015: Goals!

I have set many goals in the past and…I’ll be honest, many of them got dropped before the end of January. I know it’s a cliche, though, but there’s just something about the start of a new year. Fresh start, a chance to try again, get back on the horse, or try something completely new. So here are my goals:

  • 100 Days of Low-Carb! Obviously, one of my goals is to stick with my eating plan for 100 days in a row.
  • Lose Weight: My current weight is 177.4 lbs. I would like to lose roughly 30 lbs this year but more importantly than scale number is…
  • Lower My Body Fat %: I’m around 33% body fat which is pretty ridiculously unhealthy. This year, I would like to get that to around 24%. To do this, I plan to follow the weight-lifting plan from Nerd Fitness Academy.
  • Run a 5K: I want to run a 5k on March 28. I will get there by following the plan from Katie at Runs For Cookies

    A 5K Plan for People Who Hate To Run by Katie @ Runs for Cookies

Lowering my body fat percentage is a really important goal for me this year. When I did low-carb last year and lost weight before the wedding, I was the lowest I have ever been (155 lbs). I had never been that low as an adult and in fact, I didn’t even think I COULD! Now I know that I CAN stick with something and I’m NOT BROKEN! I CAN lose weight! What I didn’t know was what I could realistically expect to look like when just focusing on diet and not exercise. I expect to be toned and more fit-looking than what I actually did. But realistically, it doesn’t work like that. Tone = muscles! I need to lower my body fat and build muscles.

Of course, to build muscles, I have to work out. Which I hate. A lot.

These are my broad goals. The other day, I read that you should list specific actionable habits that will result in your goal. For example: My goal is to lose weight. The actual habits I can create in order to achieve this is, for example, to meal plan every Saturday at 10:00 AM, to meal prep every Sunday at 3:00 PM, and to log my food into My Fitness Pal every day at 9:00 AM, 1:00 PM, and 6:00 PM. If I do those habits, then it will naturally result in my goal being achieved. So I think I will go through my broad goals and create a plan like that. Anything that might help! 🙂

Leave a Reply

